• 关于我们

    关于我们

    Samaritan House 致力于通过免于性侵犯、家庭暴力、人口贩卖和无家可归的自由来促进成人及其子女的人身安全、成长和自给自足。

    自 1984 年以来,Samaritan House 为家庭暴力受害者和无家可归家庭提供紧急和永久住房、支持服务和社区外展服务。我们拥有并经营 14 个安全屋,为逃离暴力的个人和家庭以及可能失去家园的人提供紧急避难所。 Samaritan House 还为过渡性住房中的暴力受害者及其子女提供创伤知情服务。在我们的紧急和永久性计划中,我们每晚为大约 110 人提供住所,并以公平的市场价值提供经济适用房。我们的儿童计划与我们的青少年(我们服务的大约 65% 人)合作,建立健康的关系,建立自信,提高学习成绩,并最终打破暴力和无家可归的循环。

  • 我们的理念

    我们的理念

    撒玛利亚之家计划和服务以赋权理论和实践模式为指导。我们通过在信任和共享权力的基础上与每个人建立帮助关系,让自己参与变革过程。我们相信所有人都有能力改善自己的生活,我们尊重每个人的自决权。我们以个人已确定的优势为基础,调动资源并教授新技能,这些技能将直接改善每个人与他们互动的各种系统之间的互动,以求生存和发展。

    我们认识到家庭暴力是一个复杂的社会问题,而不是个人缺陷的影响。我们坚持赋予权利的观点,并相信受虐妇女和男子并非自愿成为暴力的受害者,只要有足够的支持、资源和机会,他们将为自己和他们的孩子选择没有暴力的生活。我们承认歧视、经济剥夺,而压迫阻碍了一个人从贫困和无家可归走向经济稳定的能力。我们的倡导工作确保了个人和家庭有权获得但无法自行获得的资源和服务。我们致力于为社区服务,为所有寻求撒玛利亚之家服务的人提供希望、治愈和改变。

  • 我们的历史

    我们的历史

    1984 年,为弗吉尼亚海滩社会服务部提供支持的弗吉尼亚海滩宗教间社区发现,许多服务机构正在寻求帮助,为无家可归的家庭提供住所和食物。由于需求变得超出个别教会所能满足的资源,因此成立了一个工作组来解决当地和地区的无家可归问题,并于 1985 年为无家可归家庭开设了一个四居室收容所,撒玛利亚之家诞生了。

    Samaritan House 以 Virginia Beach Ecumenical Housing, Inc. 的名义成立于 1984 年,并于 1985 年为无家可归的家庭开设了第一家庇护所。五年内,撒玛利亚之家扩大服务范围,应对家庭暴力造成的无家可归者,开始了家庭暴力危机干预和预防的使命。撒玛利亚之家参与区域危机应对,24小时危机热线,提供紧急避难所,过渡性住房、低成本的负担得起的住房和支持性服务,以促进危机中的家庭和家庭暴力受害者的安全、自给自足和康复。除了我们的住房单元,我们还经营帕特里夏和道格拉斯佩里安全港中心。该设施用于我们的儿童计划、各种支持和培训小组、受害者倡导计划、我们的案件管理人员、我们的接收部门和我们的行政办公室。

    撒玛利亚人之家致力于通过教育、宣传、社区外展和干预,尽可能地找出和消除任何形式的无家可归和暴力的根源。我们的预防和教育计划为初中、高中和大学生提供研讨会和培训;医学界;执法部门、信仰社区、民间组织、军队和公众。我们全年举办宣传活动,并参与有关家庭暴力、性侵犯和人口贩运问题的法律宣传工作。

  • 关于我们
    撒玛利亚之家致力于通过免于性侵犯、家庭暴力、人口贩卖和无家可归的自由来促进成人及其子女的人身安全、成长和自给自足。自 1984 年以来,撒玛利亚之家提供紧急和永久住房、支持服务和社区与家庭暴力受害者和无家可归家庭的外展活动。我们拥有并经营 12 个安全屋,为逃离暴力的个人和家庭以及可能失去家园的人提供紧急避难所。 Samaritan House 还为过渡性住房中的暴力受害者及其子女提供创伤知情服务。在我们的紧急和永久性计划中,我们每晚为大约 110 人提供住所,并以公平的市场价值提供经济适用房。我们的儿童计划与我们的青少年(我们服务的大约 65% 人)合作,建立健康的关系,建立自信,提高学习成绩,并最终打破暴力和无家可归的循环。
  • 我们的理念
    撒玛利亚之家计划和服务以赋权理论和实践模式为指导。我们通过在信任和共享权力的基础上与每个人建立帮助关系,让自己参与变革过程。我们相信所有人都有能力改善自己的生活,我们尊重每个人的自决权。我们以个人已确定的优势为基础,调动资源,并教授新技能,这些技能将直接改善每个人及其与之互动的各种系统之间的互动,以便生存和发展。我们认识到家庭暴力是一个复杂的社会问题,而不是个人缺陷的影响。我们坚持赋予权利的观点,并相信受虐妇女和男子并非自愿成为暴力的受害者,只要有足够的支持、资源和机会,他们将为自己和他们的孩子选择没有暴力的生活。我们承认歧视、经济剥夺,而压迫阻碍了一个人从贫困和无家可归走向经济稳定的能力。我们的倡导工作确保了个人和家庭有权获得但无法自行获得的资源和服务。我们致力于为社区服务,为所有寻求撒玛利亚之家服务的人提供希望、治愈和改变。
  • 我们的历史
    1984 年,为弗吉尼亚海滩社会服务部提供支持的弗吉尼亚海滩宗教间社区发现,许多服务机构正在寻求帮助,为无家可归的家庭提供住所和食物。由于需求变得超出了个别教会所能满足的资源,因此成立了一个工作组来解决当地和地区的无家可归问题,并于 1985 年为无家可归家庭开设了一个四居室收容所,并诞生了撒玛利亚之家。以名称弗吉尼亚海滩普世住房公司的撒玛利亚人之家成立于 1984 年,并于 1985 年为无家可归家庭开设了第一家收容所。五年内,撒玛利亚之家扩大服务范围,应对家庭暴力造成的无家可归者,开始了家庭暴力危机干预和预防的使命。撒玛利亚之家参与区域危机应对,24小时危机热线,提供紧急避难所,过渡性住房、低成本的负担得起的住房和支持性服务,以促进危机中的家庭和家庭暴力受害者的安全、自给自足和康复。除了我们的住房单元,我们还经营帕特里夏和道格拉斯佩里安全港中心。该设施用于我们的儿童计划、各种支持和培训小组、受害者倡导计划、我们的案件管理人员、我们的接收部门和我们的行政办公室。
    撒玛利亚人之家致力于通过教育、宣传、社区外展和干预,尽可能地找出和消除任何形式的无家可归和暴力的根源。我们的预防和教育计划为初中、高中和大学生提供研讨会和培训;医学界;执法部门、信仰社区、民间组织、军队和公众。我们全年举办宣传活动,并参与有关家庭暴力、性侵犯和人口贩运问题的法律宣传工作。

汉普顿路不断增加的多样性为我们的社区增加了文化、社会和经济利益。撒玛利亚之家对受压迫群体经常遭遇边缘化并面临接受支持服务的障碍这一事实很敏感。我们寻求增加准入和包容性,特别是对于那些被边缘化、处于不利地位或受压迫的人。撒玛利亚之家致力于促进所有需要支持服务的个人平等获得服务。 Samaritan House 为遭受家庭暴力、性侵犯、人口贩运或无家可归的个人和家庭提供住房、案件管理、咨询、受害者权益、交通、医疗援助、食品援助、团体治疗、工作培训等。我们提供的这些服务不受基于种族、语言、种族、年龄、能力、性别、性别认同、性取向、家庭状况、收入、移民或难民身份、国籍、出生地、政治或宗教信仰的歧视。

成功的故事


杰西卡发现自己不得不从加利福尼亚重新开始她的生活,因为她的母亲是一名海军退伍军人,她将她和她的兄弟们搬到了弗吉尼亚,以逃避她身体虐待的丈夫重新控制他们的生活和未来。无论生活给她带来什么,她始终是一个好学生;杰西卡经常被家人忽视和忽视。正是由于这种忽视,杰西卡被吸引到不健康和不恰当的关系中,因为她在家里没有得到关注。意识到家人需要帮助处理他们的创伤和获得永久住房的支持,杰西卡的妈妈联系了撒玛利亚人之家。杰西卡与她指定的儿童倡导者合作,接受了评估并转诊至军事综合治疗。在与她的艺术治疗师的会谈中,杰西卡能够表达她的感受并克服她过去的一些令人不安的经历和记忆。具体来说,杰西卡能够面对生活中的混乱,并确定她必须做出的选择,以便在她的人际关系中建立积极、健康的界限。自从她参与撒玛利亚之家以来,杰西卡在学校蓬勃发展,最近被欧道明大学录取,在那里她正在从事社会工作,希望对在家中遭受暴力的其他人的生活产生积极影响。

杰西卡

在她易受影响的青春期前,阿什莉遭受了父亲持续的言语和情感虐待。对于一个试图建立自我认同感的年轻女孩来说,在如此重要的发展时期,她父亲的虐待给阿什莉留下了情感上的伤疤。阿什莉的妈妈决心为她的孩子们创造一个快乐和支持的环境,她转向撒玛利亚之家寻找工作和住所。当阿什莉的妈妈与她指定的代言人一起工作安置和永久住房稳定时,阿什莉被指派了一位撒玛利亚之家儿童代言人,致力于帮助阿什莉克服过去的创伤,并帮助她为未来建立健康的目标。阿什莉的辩护人意识到,由于她年轻时经历的言语和情感创伤,她养成了影响个人健康的有害习惯。像她的堂兄杰西卡一样,阿什利被转介接受治疗,并通过他们的艺术治疗计划帮助她度过了创伤。艺术疗法帮助阿什莉建立了她缺乏的自尊心,并发展了应对机制来应对她在生活中可能遇到的压力源。 Ashley 一直在努力工作,希望能申请健康科学学院,她的志向是成为一名护士并与癌症患者一起工作。

阿什利

两个女孩来自不同的背景,经历了不同的家庭暴力,但由于她们的母亲致力于建立健康的家庭环境以及撒玛利亚之家工作人员和服务的支持,这些女孩正在茁壮成长。通过他们的磨难,他们依靠彼此的支持,依靠他们的家庭纽带获得力量。他们一直积极参与撒玛利亚之家课外活动和所有其他儿童的活动。他们通过支持和参与其他撒玛利亚之家计划的年轻青年进行回馈,并已成为许多人的榜样。

杰西卡和阿什莉

当我的前夫多次殴打和殴打我时,是撒玛利亚之家带我和我的儿子来帮助我们。通过咨询和支持小组,他们帮助我获得了离开婚姻的力量和支持。给我勇气把它记在我的施虐者永久记录上,这样他就会三思而后行伤害另一个女人或孩子,因为现在他有历史了。他被判犯有虐待和忽视儿童以及殴打和殴打罪。他认罪。

打破暴力循环

如果他殴打另一个女人或伤害另一个孩子,我将无法忍受自己,因为我知道我可以通过不报告来阻止它。工作人员非常友好。我感到震惊的是,一位辩护人来到我的审判前,在我的审判前在候诊室与我交谈。在等待我等待法庭审理我的案件时,她真的让紧张和焦虑消退了。

支持小组中的女性真的给了我力量,让我不再让施虐者试图在精神上虐待我,因为他不在我身边。非常感谢您的组织。我永远感激不尽。

打破暴力循环

我们的员工

董事会

逛一圈

虽然我们的紧急避难所分散在汉普顿路的秘密地点以保护我们的客户,但我们在弗吉尼亚海滩的地区总部向公众开放,以进行预定的旅行。我们鼓励我们的支持者亲眼目睹我们如何实现我们的使命,并会见我们敬业的员工和实习生。我们很高兴有机会与您见面并带您参观,以展示我们提供的计划的最新变化和更新。接触 汤姆·希金斯 安排参观撒玛利亚之家办公室。

出版物和媒体

为了随时了解有关我们的计划、服务、活动和参与方式的最新消息,我们邀请您通过我们制作的各种出版物保持联系。

订阅我们的电子邮件通讯,了解社区活动、新闻和更新的最新信息。您可以通过单击将您的电子邮件添加到我们的列表中 这里.

全年,我们通过电子邮件、博客文章和 Facebook.媒体查询,请联系 安德鲁·罗伯茨.

感谢我们的企业赞助商

About Us 2017-09-07T15:16:42+00:00
  • About Us

    About Us

    Samaritan House is committed to fostering personal safety, growth and self-sufficiency in adults and their children through the freedom from sexual assault, domestic violence, human trafficking and homelessness.

     

    Since 1984, Samaritan House has provided emergency and permanent housing, support services and community outreach to victims of domestic violence and homeless families. We own and operate 12 safe houses for emergency shelter for individuals and families fleeing violence and those at risk of losing their homes. Samaritan House also provides trauma informed services for violence victims and their children in transitional housing. In our emergency and permanent programs we shelter about 110 people per night as well as providing affordable housing at fair market value. Our children’s program works with our youth (approximately 65% of the people we serve) to establish healthy relationships, build self-confidence, increase academic performance, and ultimately break the cycles of violence and homelessness.

  • Our Philosophy

    Our Philosophy

    Samaritan House programs and services are guided by the empowerment theory and model of practice. We involve ourselves in the change process by developing a helping relationship with each individual based on trust and shared power. We believe that all people have the capability of improving their own lives and we respect the right to self-determination by each person. We build upon an individual’s identified strengths, mobilize resources, and teach new skills that will directly improve the interactions between each person and the various systems they interact with in order to survive and thrive.

     

    We recognize that family violence is a complex social problem and not the effect of individual deficits. We maintain the empowerment perspective and believe that battered women and men are not victims of violence by choice and that given adequate support, resources, and opportunities, they will choose violence-free lives for themselves and their children.We acknowledge that discrimination, economic deprivation, and oppression impede a person’s ability to move from poverty and homelessness to economic stability. Our advocacy efforts secure resources and services that individuals and families are entitled to and are unable to obtain on their own. We are dedicated to serving the community and offer hope, healing, and change to all those who seek out Samaritan House services.

  • Our History

    Our History

    In 1984, the Virginia Beach interfaith community, which offered support to the Virginia Beach Department of Social Services, found that many service agencies were asking for assistance in providing shelter and food for homeless families. As the need was becoming more than the individual churches had the resources to meet, a task force was formed to address local and regional homelessness, and a four-bedroom shelter for homeless families was opened in 1985 and Samaritan House was born.

     

    Under the name of Virginia Beach Ecumenical Housing, Inc., Samaritan House was incorporated in 1984 and opened its first shelter in 1985 for homeless families. Within five years, Samaritan House expanded services to respond to homelessness resulting from domestic violence, beginning the mission of domestic violence crisis intervention and prevention.Samaritan House participates in the Regional Crisis Response, a 24-hour crisis hotline and provides emergency shelter, transitional housing, low cost affordable housing and supportive services that promote safety, self-sufficiency and healing to families in crisis and victims of domestic violence. In addition to our housing units, we operate the Patricia and Douglas Perry Safe Harbor Center. This facility is used for our children’s program, various support and training groups, the Victim Advocacy Program, our case management staff, our intake department, and our administrative offices.

     

    Samaritan House is dedicated to identifying and eliminating the root causes of homelessness and violence in any form wherever possible through education, advocacy, community outreach and intervention. Our Prevention & Education programs present workshops and trainings to middle school, high school and college students; the medical community; law enforcement, the faith-based community, civic organizations, the military, and the general public. We host awareness campaigns throughout the year and participate in legal advocacy efforts on issues related to domestic violence, sexual assault and human trafficking.

  • About Us
    Samaritan House is committed to fostering personal safety, growth and self-sufficiency in adults and their children through the freedom from sexual assault, domestic violence, human trafficking and homelessness.Since 1984, Samaritan House has provided emergency and permanent housing, support services and community outreach to victims of domestic violence and homeless families. We own and operate 12 safe houses for emergency shelter for individuals and families fleeing violence and those at risk of losing their homes. Samaritan House also provides trauma informed services for violence victims and their children in transitional housing. In our emergency and permanent programs we shelter about 110 people per night as well as providing affordable housing at fair market value. Our children’s program works with our youth (approximately 65% of the people we serve) to establish healthy relationships, build self-confidence, increase academic performance, and ultimately break the cycles of violence and homelessness.
  • Our Philosophy
    Samaritan House programs and services are guided by the empowerment theory and model of practice. We involve ourselves in the change process by developing a helping relationship with each individual based on trust and shared power. We believe that all people have the capability of improving their own lives and we respect the right to self-determination by each person. We build upon an individual’s identified strengths, mobilize resources, and teach new skills that will directly improve the interactions between each person and the various systems they interact with in order to survive and thrive.We recognize that family violence is a complex social problem and not the effect of individual deficits. We maintain the empowerment perspective and believe that battered women and men are not victims of violence by choice and that given adequate support, resources, and opportunities, they will choose violence-free lives for themselves and their children.We acknowledge that discrimination, economic deprivation, and oppression impede a person’s ability to move from poverty and homelessness to economic stability. Our advocacy efforts secure resources and services that individuals and families are entitled to and are unable to obtain on their own. We are dedicated to serving the community and offer hope, healing, and change to all those who seek out Samaritan House services.
  • Our History
    In 1984, the Virginia Beach interfaith community, which offered support to the Virginia Beach Department of Social Services, found that many service agencies were asking for assistance in providing shelter and food for homeless families. As the need was becoming more than the individual churches had the resources to meet, a task force was formed to address local and regional homelessness, and a four-bedroom shelter for homeless families was opened in 1985 and Samaritan House was born.Under the name of Virginia Beach Ecumenical Housing, Inc., Samaritan House was incorporated in 1984 and opened its first shelter in 1985 for homeless families. Within five years, Samaritan House expanded services to respond to homelessness resulting from domestic violence, beginning the mission of domestic violence crisis intervention and prevention.Samaritan House participates in the Regional Crisis Response, a 24-hour crisis hotline and provides emergency shelter, transitional housing, low cost affordable housing and supportive services that promote safety, self-sufficiency and healing to families in crisis and victims of domestic violence. In addition to our housing units, we operate the Patricia and Douglas Perry Safe Harbor Center. This facility is used for our children’s program, various support and training groups, the Victim Advocacy Program, our case management staff, our intake department, and our administrative offices.
    Samaritan House is dedicated to identifying and eliminating the root causes of homelessness and violence in any form wherever possible through education, advocacy, community outreach and intervention. Our Prevention & Education programs present workshops and trainings to middle school, high school and college students; the medical community; law enforcement, the faith-based community, civic organizations, the military, and the general public. We host awareness campaigns throughout the year and participate in legal advocacy efforts on issues related to domestic violence, sexual assault and human trafficking.

Success Stories

Jessica found herself having to reestablish her life from California when her mother, a Navy Veteran, moved her and her brothers to Virginia to escape her physically abusive husband regain control of their lives and future. Always a good student no matter what life brought her; Jessica was often overlooked and neglected by her family members. It was because of this neglect that Jessica was drawn to unhealthy and inappropriate relationships for the attention she wasn’t getting at home. Realizing the family needed assistance dealing with their trauma and support in securing permanent housing, Jessica’s mom reached out to Samaritan House. Working with her assigned Children’s Advocate, Jessica was assessed and referred to Military Integrative Therapy. During sessions with her art therapist, Jessica was able to express her feelings and overcome some of the troubling experiences and memories from her past. Specifically, Jessica was able to face the chaos surrounding her life and identify the choices she had to make in order to develop positive, healthy boundaries within her relationships. Since her involvement with Samaritan House, Jessica has flourished at school and was recently accepted to Old Dominion University where she is pursuing a career in social work in hopes of making a positive impact on the lives of others who have experienced violence at home.

Two Cousins, Two Stories, One Agency
Jessica

During her impressionable pre-teen years, Ashley suffered on-going verbal and emotional abuse from her father. During such an important developmental time for a young girl trying to establish her self- identity, her father’s abuse left Ashley with emotional scars. Determined to create a happy and supportive environment for her children, Ashley’s mom turned to Samaritan House to find a job and a place to live. While Ashley’s mom worked with her assigned advocate on job placement and permanent housing stabilization, Ashley was assigned a Samaritan House Children’s Advocate who was devoted to helping Ashley work through her past trauma and to help her establish healthy goals for the future. Ashley’s advocate realized that because of the verbal and emotional trauma she had experienced in her young life, she had formed harmful habits that affected her personal health. Like her cousin, Jessica, Ashley was referred to therapy and was aided in working through her trauma via their art therapy program. Art therapy has helped Ashley build the self-esteem she was lacking, as well as develop coping mechanisms to deal with stressors she may encounter in life. Ashley has been working hard in hopes to apply for the health sciences academy, her aspirations are to be a nurse and work with cancer patients.

Two Cousins, Two Stories, One Agency
Ashley

Both girls came from different backgrounds and experienced different dynamics of domestic violence, but because of the dedication of their mothers to establish healthy family environments and the support of Samaritan House staff and services, these girls are thriving. Through their ordeals, they have leaned on each other for support and relied on their familial bond for strength. They have been active participants in Samaritan House afterschool programs and all of the other children’s activities. They give back by supporting and engaging the younger youth in other Samaritan House programs and have become role models for many.

Two Cousins, Two Stories, One Agency
Jessica & Ashley

Our Staff

Board Of Directors

Take A Tour

Samaritan House’s doors are open to the public. It is important for the community to witness how we achieve our mission of fostering personal safety, self-sufficiency and personal growth. Samaritan House offers a hour tour of our facility, first Thursday of the month from 8am to 9am.

Learn about Samaritan House programs and meet the dedicated and experienced staff responsible for providing hope, healing and change to the victims of domestic violence and homelessness.

If you are interested in touring Samaritan House, please contact Katherine Ashford.

Publications

Samaritan House likes to keep clients, donors, volunteers, and an interested community informed on how we remain steadfast in our mission of ending domestic violence and homeless.

In addition to an Annual Report, Samaritan House publishes ‘The Good Samaritan’ printed newsletter twice a year. Throughout the year, we provide updates through eblast, blog posts, and Facebook.

View or Download

Thank You To Our Corporate Sponsors