第四屆年度 WAV 午餐會

2018 年 5 月 18 日星期五

2018 年 5 月 18 日星期五

上午 11:30 – 下午 12:00 簽到和網絡

中午 12:00 – 下午 1:00 午餐和節目

威斯汀弗吉尼亞海灘鎮中心

商業街 4535 號

弗吉尼亞海灘,弗吉尼亞州 23462

有興趣贊助餐桌或作為客人出席嗎?
請給 Eva Fuze 發電子郵件:
evaf@samaritanhouseva.org
或致電 757-323-6164 了解更多信息。

餐桌和活動贊助起價為 $1,000。

聯繫我們獲取個人門票的可用性。

“奧黛麗傳達了希望、勇氣、毅力和感激的信息。她是一位了不起的女性,不僅幫助暴力受害者恢復和康復,而且為每個應對充滿挑戰的生活環境的人提供了一種彈性感。和她在一起很開心,每個人都愛她。她有一份禮物要與世界分享。”
– Krista Heeren-Graber,南達科他州反對家庭暴力和性侵犯網絡執行董事

加入我們,參加 5 月 18 日舉行的第四屆年度 WAV(婦女反對暴力)午餐會,反對暴力,作為一個社區團結起來,一起崛起,聆聽倖存者分享他們關於希望和康復的故事。在去年的午餐會上,我們邀請了《紐約時報》暢銷書作家珍妮·拉圖斯,她分享了關於親密伴侶暴力如何奪走她姐姐的生命並差點殺死她的扣人心弦的故事。我們還聽取了 Samaritan House 的董事會成員和前客戶 Melinda Goodwin 的來信,她真實地證明了在擺脫暴力的束縛後可能獲得希望和治愈。我們非常感謝社區中本地企業的大力支持,他們贊助了去年的活動並幫助它取得了巨大的成功!感謝所有出席的人。

特邀嘉賓:奧黛麗·馬布里

在 2009 年被分居的丈夫放火後,奧黛麗發誓要為他人代言,並將創造她想在世界上看到的變化作為她的人生使命。她是一位“倖存者”、全球演說家、教育家和反對家庭暴力/性侵犯的倡導者。她出現在 Phil 博士、Anderson Cooper、48 小時、我倖存下來、我嫁給了誰、死亡之吻、Inside Edition、The Doctors 和 Maury Povich 作為倡導者、倖存者和靈感女性。此外,她還擔任過兩項終止家庭暴力公益廣告的代言人和代言人,並擔任 打破沉默反對家庭暴力。

你可以在她的網站上閱讀更多關於奧黛麗的信息 這裡。

我們期待在今年的午餐會上接待 Mabrey 女士,並聽到更多關於她如何從受害者轉變為倖存者的故事。

在今年的午餐會上,我們也很高興能分享一些我們一直在努力的新更新和項目。一定要帶上你的手機參加活動!

今日回复

親愛的朋友們,

家庭暴力滲透到我們所有的圈子。即使是與我們最親密的朋友和知己談論它也是不“安全”的一件事。但談論它是我們需要做的,以消除可恥的污名並打開變革之門。

很多人都問過,除了慷慨的捐款之外,你還能做些什麼來提供幫助。通過這種定期交流,我希望我們能為您提供外出講述我們的故事所需的信息。撒瑪利亞人之家是一個龐大的組織。太多人認為我們只是一個小型婦女收容所,而實際上我們有 11 座房屋,僅去年一年,我們就為 400 多個因暴力而破碎的家庭提供服務。太多人認為我們只照顧受虐待的女性。您知道嗎,我們去年為更多的兒童提供了超過 26,000 份餐食,超過了漢普頓路許多最大的兒童慈善機構?我們的故事很大,我們需要講述它。

我致力於在本時事通訊中全年盡可能多地為您提供信息。請用它來幫助講述我們的故事,並幫助招募更多像您一樣敢於發聲反對暴力的領導人。我們可以一起打敗它。

非常感謝您和您一直以來的支持。

溫馨問候,

莎拉金 |椅子 WAV

誰是婦女反對暴力(WAV)?

婦女反暴力組織 (WAV) 是由社區領袖和專業人士組成的精選團體,致力於支持撒瑪利亞之家製止暴力的使命;無論是家庭販運、性販運還是人口販運。

使命:通過慈善事業、網絡、服務和獎學金讓職業女性參與其中,以實現結束家庭暴力的共同目標。

目的: 婦女反對暴力 (WAV) 的目的是協助撒瑪利亞之家向社區宣傳撒瑪利亞之家提供的資源和服務。 WAV 是一個籌款和志願服務團體。

目標:

  • 鼓勵婦女通過慈善事業支持撒瑪利亞之家。
  • 激勵女性擔任社區領袖,為撒瑪利亞之家發聲。
  • 發起一場挑戰家庭暴力刻板印象並提高公眾意識的運動。
  • 指導年輕女性專業人士通過服務行為參與和給予。

統計數據:

  • 三分之一的女性和四分之一的男性是親密伴侶嚴重身體暴力的受害者。
  • 弗吉尼亞州的 41% 兇殺案與親密伴侶暴力有關
  • 75%受虐婦女企圖自殺
  • 每 30 秒就有一人成為美國人口販賣的受害者
  • 奴隸制在 150 年前就被廢除了,但今天的奴隸制人數比我們歷史上任何時候都多。
  • 去年,人口販賣行業創造了 $320 億……超過耐克、谷歌和星巴克的總和。
  • 對兒童的影響是毀滅性的——目睹暴力的兒童成為施虐者和/或家庭暴力受害者的可能性是其兩倍

點擊這裡下載我們最新的通訊: WAV 通訊 Vol.1

Women Against Violence (WAV) – 4th Annual Luncheon May 18, 20182018-11-23T04:49:35+00:00

4th Annual WAV Luncheon

Friday May 18, 2018

Friday May 18, 2018

11:30am – 12:00pm Check-in & networking

12:00pm – 1:00pm Lunch & program

Westin Virginia Beach Town Center

4535 Commerce Street

Virginia Beach, VA 23462

Interested in sponsoring a table or attending as a guest?
Please e-mail Eva Fuze:
evaf@samaritanhouseva.org
or call 757-323-6164 for more information.

Table and event sponsorship starts at $1,000.

Contact us for availability of individual tickets.

“Audrey offered a message of hope, courage, perseverance, and gratitude. She is an amazing woman who not only helps victims of violence with recovery and healing, but she provides a sense of resiliency for everyone dealing with challenging life circumstance. She was a joy to be around and everyone loved her. She has a gift to share with the world.”
– Krista Heeren-Graber, South Dakota Network Against Family Violence and Sexual Assault Executive Director

Join us for our 4th Annual WAV (Women Against Violence) Luncheon on May 18th to take a stand against violence and come together as a community to RISE UP and hear survivors share their stories of hope and healing. At last year’s luncheon, we hosted New York Times bestselling author Janine Latus, who shared her gripping story of how intimate partner violence took the life of her sister, and nearly killed her as well. We also heard from Melinda Goodwin, a board member and former client of Samaritan House, who is a true testimony to the hope and healing that is possible after escaping the grips of violence. We were so appreciative to have received so much support from local businesses in the community who sponsored last year’s event and helped make it a great success! Thank you to everyone who attended.

Special Guest: Audrey Mabrey

After being set on fire by her estranged husband in 2009, Audrey vowed to be a voice for others and made it her life mission to create the change she wants to see in the world. She is a “sur-thriver,” global speaker, educator and advocate against domestic violence/sexual assault. She has appeared on Dr. Phil, Anderson Cooper, 48 Hours, I Survived, Who the Bleep did I Marry, Kiss of Death, Inside Edition, The Doctors, and Maury Povich as an advocate, survivor, and woman of inspiration. Additionally, she has been the face and voice of two public service announcements for ending domestic violence and served as the Board President for Break the Silence Against Domestic Violence.

You can read more about Audrey at her website here.

We look forward to hosting Ms. Mabrey for this year’s luncheon and hearing more of her story of how she transformed from victim to survivor.

At this year’s luncheon we are also very excited to share some new updates and projects we have been working on. Be sure to bring your cell phone to the event!

RSVP Today

Dear Friends,

Domestic violence permeates all of our circles. It’s the one thing that isn’t ‘safe’ to talk about with even our closest friends and confidants. But talking about it is what we need to do to remove the shameful stigma and open the door for change.

So many of you have asked what else can you do to help aside from your generous donations. With this regular communication I’m hoping we’ll provide you with the information you need to go out and tell our story. Samaritan House is a huge organization. Too many people think we are just a small women’s shelter, when in truth we have 11 houses and last year alone served over 400 families shattered by violence. Too many think we only take care of abused women. Did you know we provided over 26,000 meals to more children last year than many of the largest children’s charities in Hampton Roads? Our story is huge and we need to tell it.

I am committed to getting as much information in your hands as possible throughout the year in this newsletter. Please use it to help tell our story and help recruit more leaders like yourself who will speak out against violence. Together we can beat it.

With great appreciation for you and your continued support.

Warmest regards,

Sarah Golden | Chair WAV

Who are the Women Against Violence (WAV)?

Women Against Violence, (WAV) is a select group of community leaders and professionals committed to supporting Samaritan House’s mission to stop violence; whether domestic, sexual or human trafficking.

Mission:  To engage professional women through philanthropy, networking, service and fellowship for a common goal of ending domestic violence.

Purpose: The purpose of Women against Violence (WAV) is to assist Samaritan House in educating the community about the resources and services offered through Samaritan House. WAV functions as a fundraising and volunteer service group.

Goals:

  • Encourage women to support Samaritan House through philanthropy.
  • Inspire women to serve as leaders in the community acting as a voice for Samaritan House.
  • Start a movement that challenges domestic violence stereotypes and increases public awareness.
  • Mentor young women professionals to engage and give through acts of service.

Statistics:

  • 1 in 3 women and 1 in 4 men have been the victim of severe physical violence by an intimate partner.
  • 41% of HOMICIDES in Virginia are related to intimate partner violence
  • 75% of abused women try to commit suicide
  • Every 30 seconds someone is the victim of human trafficking in the U.S.
  • Slavery was abolished 150 years ago, yet there are more people in slavery today than any other time in our history.
  • Last year the trafficking industry generated $32 billion…More than Nike, Google and Starbuck’s COMBINED.
  • The impact on children is devastating – children witnessing violence are twice as likely to be abusers and or victims of domestic violence

Click here to download our latest newsletter: WAV Newsletter Vol.1

Print Friendly, PDF & Email